Dwight D. Eisenhower Award

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Award is NDIA's most prestigious Award and is accompanied by the Eisenhower Medal. The Award is named in honor of President Dwight D. Eisenhower and serves to recognize his support for and contribution to a strong national security and robust defense industrial base. The Eisenhower Award and Medal recognize leadership and strategic impact at the highest levels of National Security. The Eisenhower Award is bestowed annually on an individual who best reflects President Eisenhower's beliefs and support for a strong national security and industrial base. The awardees will meet the following criteria:

  • U.S. Citizen
  • Strategic impact and leadership at the National level
  • A leader in support of the military services and other security-related agencies
  • An active supporter of the defense industrial base and its programs
  • A leader in defining and addressing industrial base and national security issues

NDIA and its predecessor organizations (ADPA & NSIA) have given annual Awards since 1979—the Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for ADPA and the James Forrestal Memorial Award for NSIA. Beginning in 1994, the annual Award was rotated between the Eisenhower Award and the Forrestal Award. After the merger of ADPA and NSIA, and beginning in 2005, the NDIA Board mandated that the Eisenhower Award and Medal would be given on an annual basis at the NDIA Award Dinner in Washington D.C., and the Forrestal Award and Medal would replace the Defense Industry Leadership Award and be given annually at the Army Executive Seminar in Atlanta, Georgia. This decision perpetuates the legacies of these two great individuals and preserves both Awards.

Trace Adkins - 2016 Eisenhower Award Recipient 

On May 12, NDIA awarded Mr. Trace Adkins with the 2016 Eisenhower Award and Medal for his long-standing and extraordinary support and advocacy for America's servicemen and women.

Click here to see photos from the event.

 Past Eisenhower Awardees
 2015    Hon. Leon Panetta 1996     Mr. Daniel M. Tellep*
 2014    Mr. Gary Sinise  1995    General Gordon R. Sullivan, USA
 2013    Hon. Ashton B. Carter  1994    Dr. William J. Perry *
 2012    Hon. Howard P. "Buck" McKeon
 1993    Congressman John P. Murtha
 2011    Senator Christopher S. "Kit" Bond  1993    President George H. W. Bush *
 2010    General James T. Conway, USMC  1992    Hon. Dick Cheney
 2009    General David H. Petraeus, USA  1991    General Colin Powell, USA
 2008    Admiral Thad W. Allen, USCG  1990    Admiral William J. Crowe, Jr., USN
 2007    Congressman Norman D. Dicks  1989    Senator Sam Nunn
 2006    Hon. Gordon England  1988    Ambassador Vernon A. Walters
 2005    General Richard B. Myers, USAF  1987    Hon. Caspar W. Weinberger
 2004    Congressman Ike Skelton *  1986    Mr. Ross Perot
 2003    General James L. Jones, USMC  1985    Senator Barry Goldwater
 2002    Senator Daniel K. Inouye *  1984    Ambassador Jeanne J. Kirkpatrick
 2001    General Joseph W. Ralston, USAF  1983    Senator John G. Tower
 2000    Senator John Warner  *  1982    Congressman William L. Dickinson
 1999    Congressman C. W. (Bill) Young  1981    Governor William P. Clements
 1998    Senator Ted Stevens  *  1980    Mr. Bob Hope
 1997    Dr. William J. Perry  1979    Senator John C. Stennis
* James Forrestal Memorial Award