The below awards will be presented at the 26th Annual Systems and Mission Engineering Conference, held October 16 - 19, 2023, at the Hilton Norfolk - The Main, in Norfolk, VA. Nominations for these awards are now open.

Deadline for submissions: Monday, July 31, 2023.

Lt Gen Thomas R. Ferguson, Jr., Systems Engineering Excellence Award

Presented annually, this award is given to both an individual and a group/team who demonstrate outstanding achievement in any of the following ways:

  1. Practical application of systems engineering principles,
  2. Promotion of robust systems engineering principles throughout the organization, or
  3. Effective systems engineering process development during the previous year.

The nominee's systems engineering contributions should have demonstrably helped achieve significant cost savings due to new or enhanced processes, procedures, and/or concepts, increased mission capabilities, and substantially increased performance.

The National Defense Industrial Association's Systems Engineering Excellence Awards were established in 2003 to honor the memory of Lt Gen Thomas R. Ferguson, Jr., USAF, whose leadership embodied the highest ideals in the development and deployment of defense systems.

To submit your nomination for the Ferguson Award, click here.

Walter Hollis Award for Lifetime Achievement in Defense Test and Evaluation

The Walter W. Hollis Award is presented annually in recognition of the lifetime contributions and achievement in the area of defense Test & Evaluation. The award is presented in the name of Walter W. Hollis who is recognized for his dedicated and long-standing service in the field of Test & Evaluation.

To submit your nomination for the Hollis Award, click here.

Tester of the Year Awards

Tester of the Year is comprised of (3) Awards PER Service. The (3) Awards are for Military Tester of the Year, Government Civilian Tester of the Year and Contractor Tester of the year and are presented to outstanding individuals in the field of Test & Evaluation. Tester of the Year will be handed out for the previous year at the current Conference (i.e. at the 2018 Conference, the 2017) Tester of the Years would be awarded).

The Tester of the Year awards are selected by the following three services; Army, Navy and Air Force.