The Richard H. Johnson Technical Achievement Award (Johnson Trophy) is named in honor of Richard H. Johnson, recognizing outstanding personal technical achievement resulting in significant contribution to precision strike systems. Dick Johnson, who was awarded the trophy posthumously, was an exemplar of such achievements, having personally led the design or redesign of many highly effective precision strike airframes, including the Paveway LGB, HARM, Javelin, and JSOW. His designs, or imitations of them, appear in nearly every nation’s military where precision strike systems are employed. Dick was a highly productive engineer whose life was marked by decades of innovation and was also a record-breaking pilot.

The Johnson Trophy is awarded annually in the Fall at the Precision Strike Technology Symposium based on deliberations of a distinguished jury of industry, government, and military members and of the IPW Nominating Committee. Nominations are open to any U.S. or allied individual.

Nominations for the 2022 award are now open.

To submit your nomination, access this link. Please plan to join us at the Precision Strike Technology Symposium scheduled for October 18-20, 2022 in Laurel, MD as we present the award to the recipient!

Nominations will close on August 31st.