Architecture Committee

The mission of the Architecture Committee is to grow the relevance, usefulness, and awareness of System Architectures in National Defense system and application design.  The stakeholders of the committee are the members of the Defense Industrial Base, DoD, and the Military Services.  The primary liaison with OSD is Nadine Geier, OSD R&E and Paul Jonas, MOSA Metrics, US Army Research.  The committee also collaborates with INCOSE, AIA, and the DoD Modular Open Systems Working Group (MASWG).  It has  85 members from government, industry, and academia. and holds bi-weekly meetings with sub-committee/working group meetings as required.

Current activities include:

  • Participating with NDIA Manufacturing Division / Supply Chain Network Committee on parts management sustainment and an SD-22 Guidebook Update
  • Participating in DoD’s MOSA (MOSWG) and Tiger Team(s)
  • Participating in PSM’s Digital Engineering (DEWG) Working Group
  • Participating in Army MOSA Metrics Working Group Activities/Surveys
  • MOSA White Paper and Supporting Briefings
  • Mission Engineering Working Group Support (New)
  • SE Modernization with Nadine Geier, OUSD(R&E) SE Director
  • Reference Architectures
  • Modularity & Openness Partitioning and Representations in Architecture Models

Architecture Committee Reports


Modular Open Systems Approach: Considerations Impacting Both Acquirer and Supplier Adoption (PDF)

Review and Recommendations of the Utility of DoDAF-like Architectures (PDF)

Committee Chairs

Ed Moshinsky
former LMCO


John T. Stough
Exocubic LLC


Contact the Committee Chairs for more information