The Hathcock Award

Hathcock Award


The Hathcock Award is presented to recognize an individual who, in the opinion of the Small Arms Committee Executive Board, has made significant contributions in operational employment and tactics of small arms weapons systems which have impacted the readiness and capabilities of the U.S. military or law enforcement. A significant contribution is considered to be a superior performance of duties in an operational environment or the development of tactics or training.


The Hathcock Award is named in honor of Gunnery Sergeant Carlos N. Hathcock, II, USMC, a career Marine who dedicated his life to the service of this country in both the military and law enforcement communities. He was honest, tactful, considerate, courageous, quietly proud and determined in all things and all places from the range to the battlefield.  "The Gunny" not only distinguished himself in combat as a scout-sniper, but also as a competitive marksman and trainer.  In his capacity as a trainer, he not only significantly impacted the current United States Marine Corps Scout-Sniper Program, but also influenced the sniper programs of the other military services and similar law enforcement programs nationwide. 


Such contributions would be easily recognized as "excellence" in industry leadership and responsiveness in cases where National security priorities require attention to meet urgent needs in either peace or war time.


To nominate for the 2024 Hathcock Award, please access this link here



Hathcock Award Winners:

2022 Dr. Brett Bagwell
2021 not awarded, Covid year
2020 MSGT Kevin Owens
2019 Bryan Litz
2018 Stephen Toboz, Jr.
2017 Todd Hodnett
2016 W. Hays Parks
2015 SGM Pete Gould, USA (Ret)
2014 not awarded
2013 MSG Jim Smith
2012 MSgt Craig R. LaMudge, USAF (Ret)
2011 SGM Jason Beighley
2010 Jeff Hoffman
2009 Lt. Commander Robert J. Thomas
2008 J. Buford Boone
2007 American
2006 Allen Boothby
2005 Pat Mitternight
2004 Steve Holland
2003 Larry Vickers
2002 Jim Owens
2001 Bart Bartholomew
2000 Charles B. Mawhinney
1999 Carlos Hathcock