Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Pinterest Google Plus


 James Forrestal Industry Leadership Award 

James Forrestal Industry Leadership Award

The James Forrestal Industry Leadership Award is a Defense industry leadership award. The award is named in honor of James Forrestal, who was Secretary of the Navy and Secretary of Defense. It serves to recognize his support for a strong defense industrial base. The Forrestal Award recognizes outstanding leaders of companies in the defense industrial base. It is bestowed annually on a defense industry executive who best reflects Secretary Forrestal’s support for a strong industrial base.

The awardees will meet the following criteria:

  • U.S. Citizen
  • Strong record of business accomplishments
  • Broad understanding of the vital role the industrial base plays in ensuring the nation’s security
  • Keen political instincts
  • An active supporter of the defense industrial base and its programs
  • Company must be NDIA Corporate Member

NDIA and its predecessor organizations (ADPA and NSIA) have given annual awards since 1979 - the Eisenhower for ADPA and the Forrestal for NSIA. Beginning in 1994, the annual award was rotated between Eisenhower and Forrestal. After the merger of ADPA and NSIA, and beginning in 2005, the NDIA Board mandated that the Eisenhower Award and Medal would be given on an annual basis at the NDIA Award Dinner in Washington D.C., and the Forrestal Award and Medal would replace the Defense Industry Leadership Award, and be given annually at the NDIA Spring Board Luncheon. This decision perpetuates the legacies of these two great individuals and preserves both awards.

 David L. Joyce NDIA Presents The 2015 James Forrestal Industry Leadership Medal To David L. Joyce

David L. Joyce, President and Chief Executive Officer of GE Aviation, will be awarded the National Defense Industrial Association’s (NDIA) prestigious James Forrestal Industry Leadership Award on March 17, 2015 in recognition of his lifelong support for a strong defense industrial base.

Previous award recipients:

2014    Sean O'Keefe  2002    Dr. Vance D. Coffman *
2013    Wesley G. Bush 2001    Harry C. Stonecipher
2012    Ralph D. Crosby, Jr.  2000    Philip A. Odeen *
2011    Robert J. Stevens 1999    Kent Kresa *
2010    James F. Albaugh 1998    Dennis J. Picard *
2009    Ronald D. Sugar 1997    Jerry R. Junkins *
2008    Award not presented 1996    John McLuckey *
2007    Clayton M. Jones 1995    Norman R. Augustine *
2006    William H. Swanson 1994    Daniel Tellep *
2005    George J. Pedersen * 1993    Bernard L. Schwartz *
2004    J. Robert Beyster * 1992    Wiliam A. Anders *
2003    Thomas W. Rabaut *

* In 2005, the Defense Industry Leadership Award was renamed the James Forrestal Leadership Award


Affiliate Associations

The Association for Enterprise Information    National Training and Simulation Association    Precision Strike Association    Women in Defense