Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Pinterest Google Plus


 Annual Eisenhower Award Dinner 

Dwight D. Eisenhower Award

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Award is NDIA's most prestigious Award and is accompanied by the Eisenhower Medal. The Award is named in honor of President Dwight D. Eisenhower and serves to recognize his support for and contribution to a strong national security and robust defense industrial base. The Eisenhower Award and Medal recognize leadership and strategic impact at the highest levels of National Security. The Eisenhower Award is bestowed annually on an individual who best reflects President Eisenhower's beliefs and support for a strong national security and industrial base. The awardees will meet the following criteria:

  • U.S. Citizen
  • Strategic impact and leadership at the National level
  • A leader in support of the military services and other security-related agencies
  • An active supporter of the defense industrial base and its programs
  • A leader in defining and addressing industrial base and national security issues

NDIA and its predecessor organizations (ADPA & NSIA) have given annual Awards since 1979—the Dwight D. Eisenhower Award for ADPA and the James Forrestal Memorial Award for NSIA. Beginning in 1994, the annual Award was rotated between the Eisenhower Award and the Forrestal Award. After the merger of ADPA and NSIA, and beginning in 2005, the NDIA Board mandated that the Eisenhower Award and Medal would be given on an annual basis at the NDIA Award Dinner in Washington D.C., and the Forrestal Award and Medal would replace the Defense Industry Leadership Award and be given annually at the Army Executive Seminar in Atlanta, Georgia. This decision perpetuates the legacies of these two great individuals and preserves both Awards.

Mr. Trace Adkins 

Trace Adkins - 2016 Eisenhower Award Recipient 

On May 12, NDIA awarded Mr. Trace Adkins with the 2016 Eisenhower Award and Medal for his long-standing and extraordinary support and advocacy for Amerca's servicemen and women.

Click here to see photos from the event.


Previous award recipients:

2015    Hon. Leon Panetta 1996    Mr. Daniel M. Tellep *
2014    Gary Sinise 1995    General Gordon R. Sullivan, USA
2013    Hon. Ashton B. Carter 1994    Dr. William J. Perry *
2012    Hon. Howard P. "Buck" McKeon  1993    Congressman John P. Murtha
2011    Senator Christopher S. "Kit" Bond 1993    President George H. W. Bush *
2010    General James T. Conway, USMC 1992    The Honorable Dick Cheney
2009    General David H. Petraeus, USA 1991    General Colin L. Powell, USA
2008    Admiral Thad W. Allen, USCG 1990    Admiral William J. Crowe, Jr., USN
2007    Congressman Norman D. Dicks 1989    Senator Sam Nunn
2006    Honorable Gordon England 1988    Ambassador Vernon A. Walters
2005    General Richard B. Myers, USAF 1987    The Honorable Caspar W. Weinberger
2004    Congressman Ike Skelton * 1986    Mr. Ross Perot
2003    General James L. Jones, USMC 1985    Senator Barry Goldwater
2002    Senator Daniel K. Inouye * 1984    Ambassador Jeanne J. Kirkpatrick
2001    General Joseph W. Ralston, USAF 1983    Senator John G. Tower
2000    Senator John Warner  * 1982    Congressman William L. Dickinson
1999    Congressman C. W. (Bill) Young 1981    Governor William P. Clements
1998    Senator Ted Stevens  * 1980    Mr. Bob Hope
1997    Dr. William J. Perry 1979    Senator John C. Stennis

* James Forrestal Memorial Award


Affiliate Associations

The Association for Enterprise Information    National Training and Simulation Association    Precision Strike Association    Women in Defense