Small Arms Track

Thursday, May 10, 2018 

7:00 am – 5:00 pm           Registration Open

7:00 am – 7:40 am           Networking Breakfast

7:40 am – 7:45 am           Administrative Announcements – Brian Berger, Chairman Small Arms Committee

7:45 am – 8:05 am           Session I: Welcome        

                                           CAPT Oesterreich, NSWC Crane Commander


8:05 am – 8:20 am           Don Geiss – DOTC –

                                           The Primary OTA for DoD Small Arms

8:20 am – 9:40 am           Session II: PM Soldier Weapons

                            Chair: COL Elliott Caggins


  • LTC Lloyd Beal III Product Manager, Crew Served Weapons
  • LTC Steven Power, Product Manager, Solider Weapons
  • SIG Sauer Presentation on the M17/M18 Pistol – Gabe Bailey

9:40 am – 10:10 am        Networking Break – Exhibit Hall

10:10 am – 11:10 am      Session III: PM Maneuver Ammunition Systems (PM-MAS) Panel

                          Chair: COL Hector Gonzalez, USA, Project Manager, PM-MAS


  • Mr. Christopher Seacord, Product Manager, Medium Caliber Ammunition
  • LTC Andrew Lunoff, Product Manager Small Caliber Ammunition

11:10 am – 12:10 pm      Session IV: NATO Weapons and Sensors Working Group Panel

     Chair: Dr. Barton Halpern, NATO Weapon and Sensor Group Chairman


  • Dr. David Dye, Naval Surface Warfare Center (NSWC) Crane Division
  • Mr. Adam Jacob, USA, ARDEC
  • Mr. Mark McFadden, USA, ARDEC, JSSAP
  • Mr. Scott Reeve, UK Defense Science and Technology Laboratory
  • Mr. Wayne Thomka, USA Project Manager Soldier Sensors and Lasers Technology Management Director
  • CWO John Yoshida, Senior Technical Authority Small Arms Director Soldier Systems Program Management (DSSPM) Canadian Armed Forces

12:10 pm – 1:10 pm        Networking Lunch

1:10 pm – 2:10 pm          Session VI: PM Soldier Sensors and Lasers Panel  (Confirmed)

     Chairs: COL Christopher Schneider, USA, PM Soldier, Sensors, and Lasers &

     Wayde Thomka, USA, Technology Management Director, PM Soldier Sensors, and Lasers

2:10 pm – 3:10 pm          Session VII: Joint Service Small Arms Synchronization Team (JSSAST) Panel

                           Chair: Mr. Augustine Funcasta, USA, RDECOM-ARDEC, JSSAP


  • COL Kurt “Travis” Thompson, USA, Soldier Requirements Division
  • Mr. Christopher Woodburn, USMC, Capabilities Development Directorate
  • COL Enrico Vendetti, USAF Security Forces Center
  • Mr. Craig LaMudge, US Coast Guard
  • LCDR Peter Downes, USN, DCNO N9
  • LTC Mark Owens, USA PEO SOF Warrior

3:10 pm – 3:40 pm          Networking Break – Exhibit Hall

3:40 pm – 4:40 pm          Session VIII:  Joint Service Small Arms Program (JSSAP) Session

                           Chair: Mr. Augustine Funcasta, USA, RDECOM-ARDEC, JSSAP                                       

3:40 pm – 5:40 pm          JSSAP Science and Technology Advisory Council (20148)

4:00 pm – 4:20 pm          Development of Material Characterization Methods for Next Generation Weapons Barrel Requirements  (20142, 20143 20144)


4:20 pm – 4:40 pm          Characterization of Machine Gun Barrel Temperature and Stress Conditions Through Correlation of Testing and Modeling Simulation Data (20194)


4:40 pm – 5:00 pm          Development of Small Caliber Barrel for Enhanced Performance (20206)


5:00 pm – 5:20 pm          Precision Munition Technology (20231)


5:20 pm – 5:40 pm          Development of Small Arms Blowback Test Methodology (20311)