Dwight D. Eisenhower Award

Click here for the Nomination form.

This is NDIA's most prestigious award. Named for President Dwight Eisenhower, the award honors his contribution to strong national security, a robust defense industrial base, and unwavering support of warfighters. The Eisenhower award recognizes leadership and strategic impact at the highest levels of national security. It is bestowed annually on an individual who best reflects Eisenhower's strong commitment to national security.

Award nominees must:

  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Have had strategic impact and leadership at the national level
  • Be a leader in support of the military services, other security-related agencies, and warfighters
  • Be an active supporter of the defense industrial base and its programs
  • Be a leader in defining and addressing issues of the industrial base and national security

If you have questions on submitting nominations, please contact Liza Jones, ljones@ndia.org or call (703) 247-2560.

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Award Recipient for 2017 was Rep. William “Mac” Thornberry (R-TX).

 Past Eisenhower Awardees

Trace Adkins

 1996 Mr. Daniel M. Tellep*
 2015 Hon. Leon Panetta  1995 General Gordon R. Sullivan, USA
 2014  Mr. Gary Sinise  1994 Dr. William J. Perry *
Hon. Ashton B. Carter  1993 Congressman John P. Murtha
 2012 Hon. Howard P. "Buck" McKeon
 1993 President George H. W. Bush *
 2011 Senator Christopher S. "Kit" Bond  1992 Hon. Dick Cheney
 2010 General James T. Conway, USMC  1991 General Colin Powell, USA
 2009 General David H. Petraeus, USA  1990 Admiral William J. Crowe, Jr., USN
 2008 Admiral Thad W. Allen, USCG  1989 Senator Sam Nunn
 2007 Congressman Norman D. Dicks  1988 Ambassador Vernon A. Walters
 2006 Hon. Gordon England  1987 Hon. Caspar W. Weinberger
 2005 General Richard B. Myers, USAF  1986 Mr. Ross Perot
 2004 Congressman Ike Skelton *  1985 Senator Barry Goldwater
 2003 General James L. Jones, USMC  1984 Ambassador Jeanne J. Kirkpatrick
 2002 Senator Daniel K. Inouye *  1983 Senator John G. Tower
General Joseph W. Ralston, USAF  1982 Congressman William L. Dickinson
 2000 Senator John Warner  *  1981 Governor William P. Clements
 1999 Congressman C. W. (Bill) Young  1980 Mr. Bob Hope
 1998 Senator Ted Stevens  *  1979 Senator John C. Stennis
 1997 Dr. William J. Perry    
* James Forrestal Memorial Award