Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Pinterest Google Plus


 Arthur Stein Award 

Arthur Stein Award

2014 Recipient: Dr. James N. Walbert, Institute for Defense Analyses
Presented by: Mr. Jim O'Bryon, The O'Bryon Group

The Arthur Stein Award is presented biennially at the Live Fire Test & Evaluation Workshop in recognition of lifetime acheivement in support of Live Fire Test & Evalution.

Mr. Arthur Stein began his defense career during World War II, when he joined distinguished scientists and mathematicians from throughout the country to work at the Ballistics Research Laboratory in Aberdeen, Maryland. He had a long and distinguished career in the private sector, most of which was spent in Buffalo, New York, working for Calspan.

In semi-retirement, Mr. Stein worked as consultant for the Institute for Defense Analyses (IDA). It was there that he became involved with the new Joint Live Fire program, the Army-conducted Bradley Live Fire Test, and later the congressionally mandated LFT&E program. During those early years of LFT&E, he had a great influence on IDA analysts and on OSD’s Live Fire Test Office. He was a distinguished member of two blue-ribbon National Research Council panels to investigate LFT&E issues.

Mr. Stein was unusual not only for his distinguished career, but for staying intellectually young even until his death in 1995 at the age of 76. His work seemed to energize both him and those around him. He firmly believed in the importance of Live Fire Test & Evaluation, and wanted to pass on his interest and knowledge to the next generation.


Previous Winners:
2011: Mr. Dale Atkinson
2009: Mr. Tracy Sheppard
2007: Mr. Larry Eusanio
2003: Dr. Ron Reese
2002: Mr. Jim O'Bryon
2000: Dr. Bob Ball
1999: Mr. Walt Hollis
1997: Dr. Paul Deitz and Dr. Lowell Tonnessen 


Affiliate Associations

The Association for Enterprise Information    National Training and Simulation Association    Precision Strike Association    Women in Defense