Twitter Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Pinterest Google Plus


 Fuze Section 

Fuze Section


The purpose of the Fuze Section shall be to promote an open exchange of technical information among government and industry technical personnel, and to identify and address changes in standards, guidance, policy, and organizational functions that impact the development, production, and performance of fuzes.

The Fuze Section's scope will encompass those areas relating to the technical and programmatic aspects of fuzes, fuze packaging and related safety devices (sensors, arm/fire devices (AFD), safety and arming (S&A) devices, etc.)


Donald Shutt
Business Development
ATK Tactical Propulsion & Controls
4700 Nathan Lane North
Plymouth, MN 55442
Phone:  (763)744-5543

Steering Committee Industry Members

Government Members

Past Chairs

  1. Gabe Peterie, Steward Warner
  2. Jim Erickson, Steward Warner
  3. Dick Strauss, Steward Warner
  4. Al Dilz, KDI, Cincinnati, OH
  5. Art Linkins, Kodak
  6. Ken Clark, Textron
  7. William Kurtz, General Electric
  8. Len Friedman, Action-Manufacturing
  9. Martin Tanenhaus, Martin Marietta
  10. Col Bruce Mueller, Raytheon
  11. Pete Belino, Motorola
  12. John Gwynn, Bulova
  13. Ken Kelly, Raymond Engineering
  14. Fred Piering, Dayron
  15. John C. Timmerman, Alliant Techsystems
  16. Ed Cooper, L3 Communications, BT Fuze Products
  17. Dave Lawson, L3 Communications KBI
  18. Dr. Barry Neyer, Excelitas Technologies 
  19. Eric Roach, Lockheed Martin



The Harry Diamond Fuzing Excellence Award recognizes the individual who, in the judgment of the panel, has made the greatest overall contribution to the fuze program during their lifetime.  The achievements for which this award will be considered may relate to any of the many components that make up this highly diverse, complex, vital commodity, from R&D through demilitarization and disposal.

The award will encompass achievements during the nominee’s career and will be presented to the winner at the annual NDIA Fuze Conference.  This competition is open to all individuals, regardless of grade or position, in the United States fuze community.  All military personnel, government civilians, and contractor employees are eligible. 

All service munitions supervisors of Headquarters, munitions plants, depots, laboratories, and proving grounds, are asked to seriously consider the contributions of their best qualified subordinates for this prestigious award.

Questions?  Please contact Loey Bleich, Meeting Planner



Affiliate Associations

The Association for Enterprise Information    National Training and Simulation Association    Precision Strike Association    Women in Defense